Ratatouille (Vegan)


Recipe Idea:

Surprisingly, until I met Don, I had never even heard of Ratatouille. I love vegetables, but it has taken me a long time to move away from a “meat, potatoes and vegetable” supper. A lot of people in my family are not big vegetable eaters, so serving a vegetarian (especially vegan!) supper to them is not viewed positively. But this is an amazing recipe! Roasting the vegetables in this recipe heightens the flavor and packs in the taste. This is a terrific supper for a cold and rainy night.

Ratatouille

Roasted Ratatouille

Ratatouille (Vegan)
Serves 4

Ingredients:

Ratatouille Nutrition Label

Ratatouille Nutrition Label

1 large eggplant
1 zucchini
1 yellow squash
2 medium yellow onions
1 green pepper
1/4 cup olive oil
salt & pepper
2 cans diced tomatoes
3 garlic cloves
1/4 cup fresh basil
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1/4 cup red wine

Directions:

Cut the vegetables (eggplant, zucchini, squash, onions, pepper) in big chunks, drizzle with olive oil, mix to combine. Spread the vegetables on one layer on a baking sheet (I cover mine with aluminum foil for easy clean up), sprinkle with salt and pepper, and bake in a 450-degree oven for 40 minutes until the vegetables are starting to turn brown. Turn the veggies over halfway through the baking time.

While the vegetables are roasting, put the tomatoes, garlic, spices and wine in a large pot and bring to a boil. Then turn the temperature to low and simmer until the other vegetables are finished roasting. Add the roasted vegetables to the tomato mixture, stir to combine. Serve hot with Jalapeño Cornbread or Crusty French Bread. Some people like shredded Parmesan or Pecorino Romano cheese over it. Delicious!

~Lois

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Entrees or Main Course and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ratatouille (Vegan)

  1. Pingback: Jalapeño Cornbread | Recipe Idea Shop's Blog

Comments are closed.