Jalapeño Cornbread


Recipe Idea:

I decided to make cornbread tonight to go with the Roasted Ratatouille for supper. I love cornbread. It is easy to make and takes a mere 15-20 minutes to bake. It’s the perfect side for any Sunday supper. Tonight, since I didn’t have all the ingredients that my normal cornbread recipe calls for, I substituted multiple ingredients. Gluten-free, and it was delicious! I used the cast iron corn pone mold to make it and they were great. I also made mini muffins with the remainder of the batter. Yum!

Jalapeño Cornbread

Jalapeño Cornbread

Jalapeño Cornbread (wheat free)
Serves 4-8

nutrition-information-for-jalapeno-cornbread

Jalapeño Cornbread Nutrition Label

Ingredients:

1-1/4 cups yellow cornmeal
1/4 cup yellow corn flour (maiz)
1/2 cup oat flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
3 teaspoon baking powder
3 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup plain yogurt
1/3 cup melted butter
1 teaspoon diced jalapeño

Directions:

In a large mixing bowl, mix all of the dry ingredients. Melt the butter. Pour the milk and yogurt into the butter to cool it. Add the eggs and jalapeno and mix well. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry mixture and mix well. Pour the batter into the hot cast iron skillet, muffin tins, or a special cast iron cornpone pan and bake at 400 degrees for 18-20 minutes until the bread pulls away from the sides and the top is turning golden brown.

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Breads and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jalapeño Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Ratatouille (Vegan) | Recipe Idea Shop's Blog

Comments are closed.