Risotto


Risotto, Indian Ratatouille, Italian Chicken

Risotto is a creamy rice side dish or you can eat is as a main dish. It is made from Arborio rice. I made some on Saturday night to accompany Italian Chicken and Indian Ratatouille.

Risotto
Serves 6

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked Arborio rice
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup chopped onion
3 cups vegetable broth or 3 cups water + 2 vegetable bouillon cubes
2 tablespoons fresh cinnamon basil (or regular fresh basil), chopped (optional)

Directions:

Saute the onion in the olive oil over medium heat until transparent, about 5 minutes. Add the rice and stir to coat in the oil; continue cooking for about 2 minutes. Add the basil and then add the broth, one cup at a time, until the liquid is absorbed, stirring frequently.

Idea: Add 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan Cheese at the end and stir until melted.

~Lois
Recipe Idea Shop logo

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in My life, Side Dishes, Supper, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.