Vinegar Dressing for Bitter Lettuce, Cucumbers & Onions or Tomatoes


We had more of our bitter leaf lettuce tonight. As Don was looking for another recipe, he came across this one, which is exactly what I was looking for when I made the Wilted Lettuce Salad over the weekend. It’s a simple salad dressing that takes just minutes to make.

Lettuce and tomato salad

Bitter leaf lettuce, tomato and onions is a good combination for Vinegar Dressing

Grandma’s Vinegar Dressing for Tomatoes
Serves 4

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons vinegar
1 tablespoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

Whisk all the ingredients together and pour it over your salad. This is good over a simple lettuce and onion salad, sliced tomatoes, or sliced cucumbers and onions.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop logo

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Gluten free, Lunch, My life, Salad, Supper, Vegetables, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.