Moussaka


Don and I had Moussaka this evening. I had never made it before (nothing unusual),  but Don had made it in the past. My recipe didn’t call for potatoes, but his does. His also doesn’t use a Red Sauce; his recipe only uses the white sauce. My version was quite good. We will have to try Don’s version another time.

Moussaka

Moussaka is delicious and filling. There are many ways to make this casserole.

Moussaka
Serves 6

Ingredients

2 large eggplants
1 pound ground beef
1 pound ground turkey or ground lamb
1 medium onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 cups Red Sauce (found elsewhere on the blog)

White Sauce Ingredients

1/4 cup butter
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 cups milk
2 eggs, slightly beaten

1 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Directions

Cut unpared eggplant crosswise into 1/2-inch slices. Saute the eggplant in the olive oil until slightly browned. Drain the eggplant on paper towels and set aside.

Fry the meat, onions and garlic until the meat is browned. Drain. Stir in the Red Sauce.

Make the White Sauce: Heat the butter until melted. Stir in the flour, salt and nutmeg. Cook over low heat, stirring constantly until smooth and blended. Add the milk, stir frequently and heat to boiling. Stir in the eggs, whisking briskly until it is all blended and the sauce has thickened.

Prepare a 9″ x 13″ baking pan by spraying it with Pam (or oiling it). Ladle in 1/2 of the tomato sauce, followed by a layer of eggplant, the rest of the red sauce, and the rest of the eggplant. Top with the White Sauce and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Bake at 375F degrees for 45 minutes until the top is golden brown.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop logo

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Beef, Casseroles, Entrees or Main Course, Hearty food, My life, Sauces, Supper. Bookmark the permalink.