Yellow Rice with Raisins


Don and I hosted a gathering for the CISR Senior Manager’s Course on Sunday. It was interesting and fun. We are grateful for all our friends, new and old, who attended!

About 25 people came to our house for dinner, and can you believe it? I didn’t take one picture of anyone! I did get photos of all the food I made, though, so you will be seeing those sometime soon. Tonight I only have time to put up one photo and recipe since it is already almost 9:30 pm. The Yellow Rice with Raisins was a big hit, and I just made it up on the fly so that made me feel good.

Yellow Rice with Raisins and Bits of Chicken

I made this dish two ways. For lunch, I added some cubed, roasted Halal chicken. For the party, I served the chicken separately. Both were a hit.

Yellow Rice with Raisins
Serves 8-10

2 tablespoons olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cups white Basmati rice
1/2 teaspoon each of cardamom, cinnamon, coriander, curry and cumin
1/4 teaspoon celery salt
1/4 teaspoon turmeric
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper (more if you like it hot)
4 cups of water
1/2 cup of brown raisins

Heat the oil in a large pot (I used a Dutch oven). Add about 1/4 cup of rice and saute until starting to turn brown. Add the spices and cook for a minute or so to enhance the flavor. Add the onion and saute until transparent, about 5 minutes. Add the water and the rest of the rice and cook until all the water is absorbed and the rice is tender, about 15-20 minutes. Stir in the raisins and heat for a couple of minutes until the raisins are heated through. Serve immediately.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop logo

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Entrees or Main Course, Fruits and Jellies, General Info, Gluten free, Hearty food, Holiday Food, Kid-friendly foods, Lunch, My life, Side Dishes, Supper, Vegan, Vegetarian, Whole Grain. Bookmark the permalink.