Why it tastes better to stir fry before slow cooking


Ellen Fadel, my sister-in-law, sent me this after I posted the Mediterranean Vegetarian Stew with Chickpeas recipe:

You stated in a slow cooker veg/chick pea recipe about frying veggies before slow cooking so enjoy a bit  chemistry with Maillard Reaction reading.  Morrad, our Food Scientist, loves this reaction and promotes it. I smiled a bit when reading your blog cuz I could hear Morrad telling me to always brown/fry foods first to bring out flavors. Learn something new everyday! 🙂

For more information:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maillard_reaction

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop logo

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Chemistry of food, Health. Bookmark the permalink.