My Favorite Beef Enchiladas


Well, Cinco de Mayo has come and gone. It has been a bit busy for us the past several days, so it has taken me some time to get this post written. We own a townhouse in Elkton, Virginia, and our tenants just moved out. We spent the weekend cleaning, touching up paint, fixing little things, and getting it ready to rent again. Now it’s ready! But we need a tenant. Anyone interested in renting a lovely 3-bedroom, 2 1/2-bath, plus den, living room, eat-in kitchen, utility room, with a nice fenced-in yard townhouse? Or do you know anyone who might be interested?

townhouse picture

435 Wirt Avenue, Elkton, Virginia

In honor of Cinco de Mayo, I made My Favorite Beef Enchiladas for our supper on May 5th. I came home just a bit early from work and made everything, including the tortillas, from scratch. Personally, I like my enchilada tortillas a bit thicker than the ones you can buy at the grocery store. This recipe came from Betty Crocker’s International Cookbook, one of my favorites.

Beef Enchiladas

Beef enchiladas are filling and delicious, but a bit spicy.

Enchiladas are tortillas rolled around a filling, usually made with meat or chicken and then baked in a spicy sauce. They are one of my favorite Mexican dishes.

Beef Enchiladas
Serves 6-10

Tortillas (recipe below)
1 1/2 pounds lean ground beef
2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
3/4 cup sliced green onion (or chopped onion)
3/4 cup dairy sour cream
3 tablespoons fresh snipped parsley
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
3 cans (15-ounces each) tomato sauce
1/2 cup chopped green pepper
3 teaspoons chopped green chilies (or more to taste)
1 tablespoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/3 cup sliced pitted ripe olives

Cook ground beef until light brown; drain. Remove from heat. Stir in 1 1/2 cups cheese, onion, sour cream, parsley, salt and pepper. Cover and reserve. Heat remaining ingredients except the olives to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer uncovered 5 minutes.

Spoon about 1/4 cup beef mixture onto each tortilla. Roll tortilla around filling. Place in an ungreased baking dish. Pour hot sauce over enchiladas. Sprinkle with remaining cheese. Cook uncovered in a 350F degree oven until bubbly, about 20-30 minutes. Garnish with olives about 5 minutes before removing from oven.

Tortillas
1/3 cup Crisco
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup water

Mix salt and flour. Cut Crisco into mixture thoroughly. Add water; stir until dough almost cleans the side of the bowl. Add a little more water if necessary. Turn dough onto a slightly floured board. Knead until smooth, 15-20 times. Divide dough into 10-12 equal parts. Shape each part into a ball; Roll into 7-inch circle. Cover remaining balls of dough with damp cloth to prevent drying. Cook on an ungreased hot griddle until golden brown, turning once, 1-2 minutes.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop logo

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Beef, Entrees or Main Course, General Info, Hearty food, Holiday Food, Kid-friendly foods, My life, Supper. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Favorite Beef Enchiladas

  1. Lois says:

    So glad everyone liked them Abbi! Thanks for letting us know.

  2. aclissold says:

    Yum, yum, yum! I made these last night and everyone loved them! Brian and Madeline took seconds for lunch today. I didn’t have time to make my own tortillas, but the next time I will and I’m sure it will be even better!

Comments are closed.