Three Bean Soup


Don has been traveling for business this week, so I haven’t made very elaborate meals. On Sunday we had a sweet potato casserole (I’ll put the recipe up another time). Monday and Tuesday nights, I played the “single girl” and had oatmeal.Tonight, I was determined to make an actual meal! Three Bean Soup and Cornbread was what I chose. It only took about a half an hour to make, too!

Three bean soup picture

Any combination of beans will work in this soup. White beans are good, too!

Three Bean Soup
Serves 4

1/2 an onion, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 15-oz can diced tomatoes
1 15-oz can black beans
1 15-oz can pinto beans
1 15-oz can black-eyed peas
2 cups water
1 ham bone
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
salt and pepper

Heat the oil in a Dutch oven or big pot. Toss in the chopped onion and minced garlic and cook until the onions are transparent. Pour in the tomatoes. Rinse the beans and add them. Cook on medium to low heat. Add the ham bone, basil, water, salt and pepper. Continue cooking for about 15 or 20 minutes. This is very tasty and goes nicely with cornbread.

Tonight when I came home, my roses had started to bloom, the azaleas were gorgeous, and the Dianthus was also lovely. Take a look…

Azaleas

Before I moved to the south, I thought azaleas were little plants that bloomed in February because people gave them to me for my birthday. I kept them in the house for awhile; then they died and I threw them out. I never knew the grew to be huge bushes!

Roses

My roses are just starting to bloom!

Dianthus
Dianthus are so beautiful!
~Lois
Recipe Idea Shop
About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Breads, Entrees or Main Course, Gluten free, My life, Soups, Supper and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.