Basil French Dressing


My daughter Erin and her partner sent me a cool present for my birthday and Mother’s Day today. They sent me a Nook (electronic reader). It’s very cool. Now if I can just figure out how to use it…

I’m kidding, of course. It’s not hard to use. I’ve figured out lots of things already about it. Surprisingly, it didn’t take me long to connect it to WI-FI and discover I can access my email on it. The challenge will be not buying apps and ebooks frequently. I did buy one book today, the new James Patterson book. But I would have bought it anyway eventually. With the Nook you can also share your books with your friends, so that’s kind of fun. Since I played with my new “toy” quite awhile tonight, I’m giving you a very simple recipe today. Enjoy!

Basil French Dressing
16 to 20 servings

This is a slightly sweet aromatic dressing for a variety of salads. When the basil is in season, this makes a wonderful dressing for a salad of mesculin greens, dried cranberries and walnuts or pecans.

Ingredients:
3/4 C extra virgin olive oil
1/4 C white vinegar
1 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp paprika
1 Tbl dried basil or 3 Tbl chopped fresh basil
1 clove of garlic split

Directions:
Place all ingredients in a cruet or glass jar with a lid. Shake to blend well and refrigerate overnight to let the flavor develop.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop logo

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, General Info, Gluten free, My life, Salad, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Basil French Dressing

  1. Lois says:

    I know what you mean. Basil is one of my favorite spices.

  2. Yum. This sounds great…I am a huge fan of basil!

Comments are closed.