South Beach Florentine Egg Cups


Last weekend Don and I had a lovely mini vacation in Richmond, Virginia. We ate some wonderful food at a couple of restaurants that were recommended to us by a friend who frequently visits the city. We also saw the Picasso exhibit at the Virginia Museum of Fine Art.

The first restaurant, Comfort, was amazing. Friday night’s meal was definitely comfort food. I had chicken with squash casserole and braised greens. Don had pork tenderloin, creamed spinach and cheesy grits. We highly recommend this restaurant.

On Saturday we had lunch at the Strawberry Cafe. I had a chicken pot pie. Yum! Don took advantage of the “Bathtub Brunch” where he had a huge choice of beautiful and delicious foods. We will go back again and are happy to recommend this restaurant as well.

Here’s a recipe that Don and I like to make at home. These egg cups are delicious and filling. They freeze well and can be reheated in just a few minutes, so they are perfect for workdays.

The original recipe came from The South Beach Diet cookbook. The recipes in this cookbook are all very good, and this is one of the best ones. I love that I can make a batch of these and then just heat them in the microwave as I want them.

I have varied the vegetables in these egg cups. Instead of peppers, I have used zucchini squash or asparagus. It’s good no matter what vegetables are used.

South Beach Florentine Egg Cups
Makes 12 

I made these egg cups with fresh spinach and asparagus. I left out the green and red peppers.

Ingredients:

1 package frozen chopped spinach (thawed and water squeezed out) or 2 cups fresh baby spinach (steamed)
3/4 cup shredded reduced-fat cheese (mozzarella or cheddar)
1/4 cup diced red or green peppers
1/4 cup diced onions
Dash of hot pepper sauce
salt and pepper (optional)
8-ounce container of Egg Beaters

Directions:

Mix all of the ingredients except the Egg Beaters and divide this mixture into 12  1/2-cup ramekins that have been sprayed with oil. Pour the Egg Beaters evenly into each ramekin. Bake at 350F degrees for 20-25 minutes until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean. After the eggs cups cool, run a table knife around the egg cups and remove them from the ramekins.

The egg cups can be wrapped in plastic and frozen in a freezer bag until you want to eat them. Two egg cups can be reheated in the microwave for 1-2 minutes until hot. They are low in calories; each cup is about 40-50 calories.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Entrees or Main Course, Gluten free, My life, Vegetables, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.