Stuffed Mushrooms


Stuffed mushrooms make delicious party food. They are easy to eat while standing. Two bites and you finish them. No mess. This recipe has very good flavor and I love to make them when I have dinner parties. I think I need to have a party and make these so I can get a picture for you!

Stuffed Mushrooms
Makes 24

1 pound medium mushrooms (about 24)
1/3 cup finely chopped green onions (scallions) with tops
1 clove garlic (crushed or minced)
1/4 cup butter or olive oil
1/2 cup dry bread crumbs
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon dried basil leaves
1/3 teaspoon pepper

Cut ends from mushroom stems and discard. Remove stems from mushrooms; chop finely. Cook and stir mushroom stems, green onions and garlic in butter or oil over medium heat until tender, about 5 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in remaining ingredients.

Fill mushroom caps with stuffing mixture. Place mushrooms filled sides up in greased baking dish. Cook in 350F degree oven 15 minutes. Serve hot.

Alternate Idea:
Add a little cooked, spicy sausage to the mix.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Appetizers, Cooking Tips, Holiday Food, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.