How to Make the Perfect Hard Boiled Egg


With Easter coming, everyone is thinking about decorating eggs. Before you do that, you have to boil some eggs. It’s not difficult to do, but two of my kids have asked me how long to boil them, so I thought I’d write down the process for my readers.

Hard Boiled Eggs

Put the eggs in a saucepan that is big enough to allow you to cover the eggs entirely with water. Add water to cover. Cook the eggs on top of the stove, setting the temperature to “high” until they come to a boil. Then turn the temperature down to low, set your timer for 12 minutes, and let them continue cooking until the timer goes off. Drain the hot water off, cover the eggs with cold water and throw in a few ice cubes to help them cool quickly.

The eggs should be perfect. You’ll see that the yolk is a perfect yellow with no darker ring around it.

Have fun decorating your Easter eggs!

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cooking Tips, General Info, Holiday Food, Kid-friendly foods, My life. Bookmark the permalink.