Scrumptious Banana Bread


The other day I volunteered to take food to a young Harrisonburg Quaker couple who just had a new baby. In addition to bringing a supper meal, I decided to also make banana bread. I had some bananas in my freezer, and all the other ingredients are things that I always have on hand. It takes awhile to bake banana bread, but it’s very easy to make.

I usually make banana bread with crushed pineapple, and it’s more like a cake—the pineapple makes it very moist. But I got a new cookbook the other day and decided to try a new recipe. The cookbook is called At My Grandmother’s Knee: Recipes & Memories Handed Down by Women of the South by Faye Porter.

Of course, I used my own ideas and combined them with the original recipe, which called for 2 cups of sugar (way too much in my humble opinion!) and buttermilk instead of evaporated milk. It also called for margarine and I don’t usually use that because of the transfats. Even though banana bread is very moist, I like mine with butter on top of it, and it’s also very good toasted. In addition, you can freeze it and save it for later. Yum!

Banana Bread
Moist, scrumptious banana bread.

Lois’ Banana Bread
Makes 2 Loaves

 
Ingredients:
4 medium-size, ripe bananas
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 cup melted butter
1 cup evaporated milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup chopped walnuts
 
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350F Degrees. In a large bowl, cream together the bananas, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and milk. Add the melted butter (cooled), baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Mix well. Add the flour, one cup at a time, mixing as you go. Add the walnuts and mix. Pour into two lightly greased 9″ x 5″ loaf pans.
 
Bake 50-60 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let the bread cool for a few minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling before serving.
 
~Lois
Recipe Idea Shop
About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Breads, Breakfast, Cakes, Desserts, Fruits and Jellies, Kid-friendly foods, My life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scrumptious Banana Bread

  1. renxkyoko says:

    Will definitely make the banana bread. Thank you for the recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.