Chickpea Salad


One of my coworkers brought a similar dish to our potluck luncheon early this week. Everyone raved about it. The recipe originally came from Epicurious.com, but I have modified it quite a bit.
 
Chickpea Salad

Chickpea Salad: filled with loads of protein and good-for-you ingredients.

Ingredients
Serves 4-6
 

2 15-ounce cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans), drained and rinsed

1/4 cup chopped red onion
1 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1 red pepper, chopped

Dressing (whisk together):
1-2 teaspoons chopped mild jalapenos or green chilies
2 tablespoons olive oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon olive tapenade (optional; commercially made is okay)
1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon oregano
1/2 teaspoon chili pepper
Juice of 1 lime (or lemon)

Directions:
Whisk the dressing ingredients together. Then combine all ingredients in a medium bowl. Season to taste with salt and pepper, if desired. Cover and chill. Serve over a bed of fresh spinach. I added some fried polenta, and the meal was delicious.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Casseroles, Entrees or Main Course, Gluten free, Lunch, My life, Salad, Supper, Vegan, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chickpea Salad

  1. Yum! This looks so refreshing and filling.

Comments are closed.