Quinoa, Fruit & Nuts Salad


I enjoy finding and making delicious new recipes. Because I often take these new foods to work where we have some employees with wheat allergies and others who are vegetarian, I also try to find recipes that are wheat-free and vegetarian. I like to use quinoa because it is a whole grain that is also a complete protein, so it’s REALLY good for you.

This week we had a luncheon at work, so I again looked for a new recipe. This one really hit the spot. It was amazing! Don took some for his lunch and he came home raving about it because he didn’t get hungry until supper time. My coworkers must have liked it, too, because they ate it all.

Quinoa, fruit & nut salad

The recipe originally came from Around My French Table by Dorie Greenspan

Quinoa, Fruit & Nuts Salad
Serves 4

Ingredients

2 cups quinoa
Salt and pepper (optional)
1 1/2 cups moist, dried mixed fruit (such as cranberries, blueberries, apricots)
1 cup mixed seeds and nuts (such as sunflower seeds, pine nuts, hazelnuts, walnuts, almonds)
1/4 to 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil (or cilantro, mint or a mix of all these)

4 cups mixed salad greens or baby spinach
1 cup plain Greek yogurt, for serving

Dressing:
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon walnut oil (or hazelnut or another tablespoon of olive oil)

Directions:
Rinse the quinoa under cold water and drain it in a sieve. Bring 4 cups of water to a boil in a medium saucepan. Salt the water and stir in the quinoa. Reduce the heat and cook gently for 12 to 15 minutes, or until the grains have expanded. When they are cooked, each grain will have a ring around it.  Turn off the heat, cover the pan and let sit for 5 minutes. If any water remains in the bottom of the pan, drain the quinoa. Let cool to room temperature.

Cut the fruit into bite-sized pieces. Chop the nuts and then toast them until lightly browned. Mix the fruit, nuts and herbs with the quinoa.  In a separate bowl, whisk the oils and ginger until well blended.  Mix the dressing into the quinoa mixture. Serve over greens with a dollop of yogurt to garnish.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Casseroles, Diabetic, Entrees or Main Course, Fruits and Jellies, General Info, Gluten free, Hearty food, Lunch, My life, Nutrition & Diet, Salad, Side Dishes, Supper, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian, Whole Grain and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.