Smoked Salmon in Cream Sauce with Pasta


In “The World According to Don” (my husband), Monday is pasta night at our house. If he’s cooking, we eat pasta on Mondays. If I’m cooking, that’s not necessarily the menu, but yesterday I did make pasta for dinner. Pasta is a simple meal and we were going to a 7 pm presentation about landmines by my boss, Ken Rutherford. I made this recipe up as I went, and it was delicious.

Smoked Salmon in Cream Sauce with Pasta
Serves 3 (I like to have leftovers for lunch)

Smoked Salmon in Cream Sauce with Pasta

Smoked Salmon in Cream Sauce with Pasta. Add whatever vegetables you like.

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, sliced
1 red pepper, cut in bite-sized pieces
1 cup broccoli florets
1 small yellow summer squash, sliced and quartered
4 large mushrooms, sliced
1/4 cup diced fresh tomatoes
1/2 cup artichoke hearts, quartered (optional)
1/4 cup cooking sherry
1/2 cup whipping cream
2 teaspoons ground arrowroot
4-6 ounces smoked salmon
Salt & pepper to taste

Cooked pasta (1/2 cup per person)

In a large skillet, heat the olive oil. Add the onions, red pepper, squash, mushrooms and broccoli. Cook until the vegetables are tender crisp. Mix the arrowroot (thickener) in the sherry and add it to the vegetables. Slowly add the cream and stir to blend. Add the smoked salmon and dump in the tomatoes. Continue to cook for a minute or so, until everything is heated through. Add salt and pepper, if desired.

Serve atop cooked pasta. Add a little grated parmesan cheese before serving.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cooking Tips, Entrees or Main Course, fish, General Info, My life, Supper, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.