Baked Apples


I work for the Center for International Stabilization and Recovery at James Madison University. Yesterday, we welcomed a Jordanian landmine survivor, Kamel Al-Sa’adi, during a special potluck dinner. Kamel is visiting JMU to present a program about surviving his landmine accident tomorrow night during our week-long Post-conflict Recovery Week event.

I brought these delicious baked apples to the dinner. They are easy to make, not too sweet and diabetic friendly.

Baked Apples: Like apple pie without the crust!

Baked Apple

Baked apples are a nice, light treat. Try substituting maple sugar for the brown sugar for a little added flavor.

Ingredients
Makes 4 servings

4 Granny Smith apples, washed and cored

Filling:
1 tablespoon Smart Balance butter blend, softened
2 tablespoons walnuts, toasted and chopped
2 tablespoons dried cranberries (craisins)
2 tablespoons old-fashioned oats
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 375F degrees. Place the apples in a baking dish.

Combine all ingredients for the filling in a bowl. Divide the filling evenly among the apples.

Pour 1/2 cup water into the bottom of the baking dish. Bake for 30-45 minutes, until soft but still slightly crisp. Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly before eating.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Desserts, Diabetic, Fruits and Jellies, General Info, My life, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.