Chocolate Coconut Pecan Tassies


I think my new favorite dessert cookbook is Small Batch Baking for Chocolate Lovers by Debby Maugans. I made these delicious “tassies” tonight for Erin and Julie for dinner. I didn’t have mini muffin tins, so I made them in standard muffin tins. Unfortunately, I didn’t bake them long enough, so the “first time” we tried them, they weren’t fabulous. But I put them back in the oven for about 20 minutes later in the evening and that did the trick. They were SO good.

 

Erin, Julie, Andrew

My girls, Erin and Julie, and their baby

 

Chocolate Coconut Pecan Tassies

Chocolate Coconut Pecan Tassies

Ingredients
Makes 6 tassies

1 ounce semi-sweet chocolate chips, divided
2 ounces cream cheese, divided, softened
1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
1 tablespoon, plus 1 teaspoon sugar, divided
1/4 cup, plus 1 tablespoon, white flour
1 teaspoon well-beaten egg white
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 tablespoons flaked coconut
2 tablespoons chopped pecans, toasted

Directions:
Position the rack in the center of the oven and preheat the oven to 325F degrees.

Put 1/2 the chocolate chips in a small bowl and microwave for about 1 minute until just softened. Stir to evenly distribute the heat and make sure the chocolate is melted. Set aside to cool.

In a deep mixing bowl, place 1 ounce of cream cheese, the butter and 1 teaspoon of sugar. Add the cooled chocolate and beat until smooth. Add the flour and beat until combined.

Roll the dough into 6 balls and place in a greased mini muffin tin (Debby says to put them in ungreased tins, but I’m afraid they would stick). Press the dough into the bottoms and up the sides of the muffin cups. Set aside. Clean the mixing bowl.

Place the rest of the cream cheese, sugar, beaten egg white (I used egg substitute) and vanilla in the mixing bowl and beat until smooth. Stir in coconut and pecans. Spoon this mixture into the prepared dough cups.

Bake until the filling begins to brown on the top, about 20 minutes (40 for full-size muffin tins). Remove from oven and cool on a rack. After they are cool, take a sharp knife and loosen the tassies from the tins and remove them to a separate plate.

While the tassies are baking, melt the remaining chocolate chips in the microwave. I added about a teaspoon of butter to them and whisk until combined and smooth. (The butter allows you to drizzle the chocolate easier.) When the tassies are cooled, drizzle each one with a bit of the melted chocolate. Serve warm.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Cookies, Cooking Tips, Desserts, My life, Supper, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.