Hard-Cooked Eggs Florentine


IDEA

I like eggs benedict so I thought I would try something similar except eliminate the English muffin to comply with the rigors of the South Beach diet. I took spinach leaves, Canadian bacon, hard-cooked eggs, and an attempt at hollandaise sauce to create this lovely breakfast.
The South Beach Diet by Dr Arthur Agatston, MD had a Mock Hollandaise Sauce recipe which look tasty and simple. But alas like all hollandaise sauce recipes I’ve tried before I couldn’t stop this one from curdling. The flavor was delightful but it had a few lumps. If you have a hollandaise sauce recipe that works every time, please post it. I’ll keep trying until I can make the perfect sauce.

 Hard-Cooked Eggs Florentine
Serves 1 (of course just multiply the ingredients to increase servings)

Ingredients

8 baby spinach leaves
4 pieces of Canadian bacon
2 hard-cooked eggs, sliced
hollandaise sauce
paprika for garnish

Preparation

Warm the serving plates.
Microwave the spinach leaves for about 20 seconds until they just start to wilt. Microwave the Canadian bacon slices for about a minute or until you hear them popping and crackling.
Place the Canadian bacon slices on the warm plate. Arrange the spinach leaves over the Canadian bacon. Fan the egg slices on the spinach leaves and add the hollandaise sauce. Sprinkle with paprika.
Enjoy!

~ Don

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Health, Nutrition & Diet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hard-Cooked Eggs Florentine

  1. Lois says:

    This looks delicious. Perhaps you could strain the sauce with a fine mesh sieve. Would that work?

    • Don says:

      Get me all excited, Lois. I thought some public person looked at the recipe and sent a comment.

      Yeah it could be strained but then it would get cold. Maybe just stick with Knorr packets 😦

Comments are closed.