Vegetarian Swedish Meatballs


I made these last night for my daughter Erin and her partner Julie. Julie is vegetarian, so I modified my standard Swedish Meatballs recipe to be vegetarian. They were quite good. I’m sorry I forgot to take a picture!

Vegetarian Swedish Meatballs
Serves 6-8

Meatballs:
1 pound Boca Vegetarian Crumbles
1/2 pound extra-firm tofu, drained and crumbled
3/4 cup dry bread crumbs
1/4 cup milk
3 eggs
1 small onion (finely chopped)
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Mix all ingredients above until thoroughly mixed. Shape mixture into 2-inch balls. Place meatballs on greased jelly roll pan. Cook uncovered in 350-degree oven until lightly browned, about 30-40 minutes.

Sauce:
1/4 cup flour
6 tablespoons butter
1 & 1/4 cup water
2 cups half-and-half
2 teaspoon instant vegetarian bouillon
1/4 teaspoon salt
snipped parsley

Melt butter in a saucepan, stir in flour. Cook over low heat, stir constantly until mixture forms little balls. Slowly add the half and half and water. Continue stirring, add the bouillon and salt. Heat to boiling and continue to stir until the sauce is a thick gravy.

Place the meatballs in a glass casserole dish, cover with the sauce, sprinkle with snipped parsley and heat for a few minutes in the microwave. Alternatively, you could bake the meatballs in the oven for about 30 minutes at 350F degrees. Serve over cooked wide egg noodles with a green vegetable on the side. Delicious!

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cooking Tips, Entrees or Main Course, General Info, Kid-friendly foods, My life, Supper, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.