Easy Asparagus and Mushroom Omelet


Asparagus and Mushroom Omelet

Easy Asparagus and Mushroom Omelet

Breakfast is an important meal for me and I enjoy starting the day with a healthy breakfast. It’s especially important when I’m trying to shed a few pounds. I have the energy to start the day. I particularly like the South Beach diet breakfast recipes authored by Dr Arthur Agatston, MD. They are interesting, attractive and filling along with being nutritious. This omelet is one of my favorites because it combines asparagus, mushrooms and cheese to make a tasty breakfast when served along with turkey bacon.

Easy Asparagus and Mushroom Omelet
Serves 1 but can be easily multiplied to serve more

Ingredients

2 eggs (I prefer organic free range brown eggs)
2 T water
1/4 t fresh ground nutmeg
Salt and fresh ground pepper to taste
3 stalks of fresh asparagus plus one for a garnish
1/4 C sliced mushrooms (I used baby bellas. It’s great with exotic mushrooms like porcini, too)
1/4 C shredded low-fat mozzarella cheese

Preparation

Cook the asparagus in water until it is just tender crisp. (When I am in a hurry I use canned asparagus but it is wimpy – definitely not tender crisp.) Cut the asparagus stalks into 1 in long pieces or leave whole.
Saute the mushrooms in a little olive oil and add butter for flavor if you want. This can be done ahead. Refrigerate the sautéed mushrooms in an air tight container until needed.
In a medium bowl whisk together the eggs and water until the whites and yolks are well blended. Add the nutmeg, salt and pepper and whisk again to combine.
Heat a 10″ non-stick skillet sprayed with cooking oil over medium heat until a drop of water sizzles when it is added. Pour in the egg mixture. It should set immediately. As the egg mixture cooks, lift the edges to allow the uncooked portion to flow underneath. When it is mostly set, turn the omelet over.
Add the asparagus, mushrooms and cheese. Fold the omelet over and allow it to cook just long enough to melt the cheese.
Slide the omelet onto a serving plate. Garnish with an asparagus stalk and several mushroom slices. Add the turkey bacon and enjoy.

Hint: When making omelets for larger parties, I use a 12″ or 14″ skillet and slice the omelet into several pieces to serve.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Nutrition & Diet, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy Asparagus and Mushroom Omelet

  1. Lois says:

    I’m so sorry I missed this one! Yum.

Comments are closed.