Corned Beef & Cabbage


I drove to Wisconsin over the weekend so I could meet my new grandson Andrew, visit my daughter Erin and her partner Julie, and help out as I can for the next couple of weeks. Erin gave birth to little Andrew on March 2, and she’s doing quite well. The little guy has his days and nights mixed up, so she isn’t getting a lot of sleep, and that’s exhausting. Unfortunately, Julie had to go back to work. So I’m here to help by giving them a break and fixing them dinner. (I will put the recipe up tomorrow.)

To give the family time for themselves, I’m staying with a friend instead of staying at Erin’s. Staying with Maggie has been lovely. In honor of St. Patrick’s Day later this week, she made us Corned Beef and Cabbage on Sunday night. It was very moist and delicious. I’m sorry to say I didn’t get a photo of it, but she did tell me her secrets.

Here’s a picture of our new little Irishman, Andrew.

Andrew

Andrew Daniel Fay-Slota

Corned Beef & Cabbage with Potatoes
Serves 4-6

1 3-5 pound corned beef brisket (preferably without nitrites)
3 bay leaves
Juices and spice sack from the corned beef
1 cup of water
2 sliced onions
1 head of cabbage
6 large potatoes, peeled and sliced in half

Line an oven-proof pot or roasting pan with the sliced onions. Place the corned beef in the pot, fat side up. Add the juices, spices and water. Bake it in a 400F degree oven for a half hour. Reduce the heat to 325F degrees and bake for one hour. Add the cabbage on top of the corned beef and bake for one more hour. You can also add the potatoes to the pot at the same time as the cabbage if you like, but Maggie likes to cook them separately, boiling them in a pot of water on top of the stove for about 25 minutes. She tosses the potatoes in a little seasoning salt before serving with the rest of the vegetables and meat.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

~Lois

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Beef, Cooking Tips, Entrees or Main Course, Hearty food, Holiday Food, My life, Supper, Type O, Vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.