Pork Chops: The Comfort Food


Yesterday, Don and I drove down to his mother’s house in Wytheville, Virginia to pick up a small chest freezer Momma Betty said we could have. It’s about a 3-hour drive from our house to get there. Of course, it was cold and rainy all weekend, and today when it came time to pack up the van, it was raining cats and dogs. The drive back in the rain was a bit stressful, too, since there are always lots of trucks on I-81, splashing the windshield and driving slowly in front of us.

So tonight seemed like a good night for comfort food. Don had been talking about pork chops, so I made one of my favorites, Baked Pork Chops in Celery Soup and a baked potato to split between us.

Baked Pork Chops in Celery Soup
Serves 4

4 boneless pork chops
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 cans Campbell’s Cream of Celery Soup
1-2 cans milk

Pork Chops in Celery Soup

Pork Chops in Celery Soup

In a 10-inch skillet, heat the olive oil and brown the pork chops slightly on both sides. Dump in 2 cans of celery soup and 1 or 2 cans of milk. Mix the milk slightly into the soup. Put the skillet in a 325F (or 350F) degree oven for 1 & 1/2 to 2 hours, until the pork chops are done and tender. They become more tender if you cook it at the lower temperature for the longer time. Serve with a baked potato and green vegetable. For dessert, we had Double Chocolate Brownie Pudding Cakes. They were delicious!

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cooking Tips, Entrees or Main Course, Hearty food, Kid-friendly foods, My life. Bookmark the permalink.