Double Chocolate Brownie Pudding Cakes


Because I sometimes review books (including cookbooks), author and publicists frequently send me free books. My latest one was a copy of Small-Batch Baking for Chocolate Lovers by Debby Maugans. It has some amazing recipes in it. I made this one for dessert tonight and it was a hit. The original recipe called for mint chocolate candies (Andes), but I didn’t have any so I substituted mini chocolate chips and made it “double chocolate” instead of “mint chocolate.” It was terrific.

Double Chocolate Brownie Pudding Cakes

Double Chocolate Brownie Pudding Cakes

Double Chocolate Brownie Pudding Cakes
Serves 4

1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
6 tablespoons plus 2 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt
2 well-beaten eggs
4 Tablespoons milk
3 Tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1 teaspoon vanilla
2/3 cup mini chocolate chips
6 Tablespoons firmly packed light brown sugar
2/3 cup boiling water
Mint chocolate chip ice cream (optional)

Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat the oven to 350F degrees. Place four one-cup ramekins or baking cups on a baking sheet. Spray them with baking spray.

Place the flour, granulated sugar, and 4 tablespoons of cocoa, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl and whisk to blend.

Place the beaten egg, milk, melted butter, and vanilla in a small bowl, and whisk to blend. Pour the egg mixture over the flour mixture, and stir with a wooden spoon just until the batter is combined. Stir in the chocolate chips. Spoon the batter into the ramekins, dividing it evenly.

Place the remaining cocoa powder, brown sugar and the boiling water in a small bowl and whisk to mix well. Pour the mixture over the batter in the ramekins. Bake the cakes until a toothpick inserted in the center of the top half of the top half of one of the cakes comes out with a few crumbs clinging to it, about 25 minutes. Remove the baking sheets from the oven, transfer the ramekins to a wire rack, and let them cool 10 minutes. Serve the cakes warm, in the ramekins, topped with scoops of ice cream, if using.

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Cooking Tips, Desserts, General Info, Kid-friendly foods, My life. Bookmark the permalink.