French Onion Soup


French Onion Soup is one of my favorites. This is a rich, homemade soup, topped with melted Swiss and Parmesan cheeses. It is easy to make and looks beautiful. This is another recipe from Betty Crocker’s International Cookbook, one of my favorite cookbooks. It is perfect as a first course or a main dish. Serve with additional French bread and a salad.

French Onion Soup
Serves 4

4 medium onions (sliced)
2 tablespoons of butter or olive oil
2 cans beef broth (condensed)
1.5 cups water
1 bay leaf
1/8 teaspoon pepper
1/8 teaspoon thyme leaves
4 slices of French bread (cut 3/4 to 1 inch thick)
1 cup shredded Swiss cheese (about 4 ounces)
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Cook onions in oil in a 3-quart saucepan, covered, over medium heat for about 15 minutes until the onions are tender. Add broth, water, bay leaf, pepper and thyme. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to a simmer. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes.

Place bread slices on a cookie sheet and broil about 1 minute until golden brown. Turn, broil the opposite side until golden brown.  Place bread in the bottom of 4 oven-proof bowls. Add broth. Top with Swiss cheese, then sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Place bowls on cookie sheet. Broil about 5 inches from heat until cheese is melted and golden brown, about 1 to 2 minutes.

~Lois
Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Entrees or Main Course, Lunch, My life, Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.