Swedish Meatballs


This is one of my childrens’ favorite meals. My daughter Erin asks for this meal whenever she comes to visit. I usually make double the meatballs and freeze half of them for the next time.

I made these for Erin while visiting her after the birth of her baby in March 2011. Since Erin’s partner Julie is vegetarian, I made a separate pan of these that were vegetarian. Check out Vegetarian Swedish Meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs
Serves 6-8

Meatballs:
1 pound ground beef
1/2 pound ground pork
3/4 cup dry bread crumbs
1/4 cup milk
1 egg
1 small onion (finely chopped)
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Mix beef, pork, bread crumbs, milk, egg, onion, salt, nutmeg and pepper. Shape mixture into 2-inch balls. Place meatballs on ungreased jelly roll pan. Cook uncovered in 350-degree oven until lightly browned, about 20 minutes.

Sauce:
1/4 cup flour
6 tablespoons butter
1 & 1/4 cup water
2 cups half-and-half
2 teaspoon instant beef bouillon
1/4 teaspoon salt
snipped parsley

Melt butter in a saucepan, stir in flour. Cook over low heat, stir constantly until mixture forms little balls. Slowly add the half and half and water. Continue stirring, add the bouillon and salt. Heat to boiling and continue to stir until the sauce is a thick gravy.

Place the meatballs in a glass casserole dish, cover with the sauce, sprinkle with snipped parsley and heat for a few minutes in the microwave. Serve over cooked wide egg noodles with a green vegetable on the side. Delicious!

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Entrees or Main Course, Kid-friendly foods, My life, Supper, Type O and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swedish Meatballs

  1. Elise says:

    I Lois!
    I really love Swedish meatballs, if I cut every ingredient into half, let’s say for 3-4 servings. Do you think it’s a good idea? And what milk do you prefer? Whole, half-half or fresh milk? Thanks!

    • Lois says:

      Hi Elise,

      Yes, you can cut the recipe in half and it will turn out fine. I use half and half in the sauce because it tastes richer to me. But remember, you can freeze the meatballs after you cook them (or even before), so I suggest you make extras and do that. It’s a very quick and delicious supper, and all you have to do it make the sauce and noodles and heat everything in the microwave.

Comments are closed.