Mental Lentil Soup


When our younger daughters were growing up, they were not fond of trying new foods. Don and I both love Lentil Soup, but Roni and Nessa did not like it. They called it Mental Soup. Don made a variation of this soup for dinner on Saturday night. Thanks, Don! Not only did we have a delicious meal, but I have lunch for a couple days this week.

Lentil Soup

Lentil soup is a hearty meal. It's easy, too!

Mental Lentil Soup
Serves 4-6

1 pound dry lentils
8-1/2 cups water
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
2 carrots, peeled and cut in rounds
1 can (6 oz) tomato paste
2 vegetable (or beef) bouillon cubes
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper

In a large pot, saute the onions and carrots in the olive oil until the onions are transparent. Add water, lentils, bouillon and spices and cook for about 30 minutes until lentils are tender but not mushy. Skim off the foam as it comes to the surface and stir the soup occasionally as you cook it. Add the tomato paste and simmer for 10-15 minutes more. Serve with crusty bread and a salad for a delicious supper. A grilled cheese sandwich is very good with it, too. I generally add a little bit of vinegar to my bowl when I eat it. The vinegar gives it a tangy flavor.

If you like a spicy soup, you can add turmeric, cumin, cinnamon and roasted red peppers to this soup for an entirely different flavor.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cooking Tips, Entrees or Main Course, Gluten free, Hearty food, Lunch, My life, Soups, Supper, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian, Whole Grain and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.