African Beef and Rice


I have only made this recipe a few times, but it is delicious. It originally comes from Betty Crocker’s International Cookbook, one of my favorite cookbooks. I can’t remember ever making anything from this cookbook that wasn’t amazing. This recipe calls for kidney beans; as usual, however, I substitute black beans for kidney beans. Kidney beans do not agree with me.

African Beef and Rice
Serves 6

1 pound beef round steak (1/2 inch thick)
2 tablespoons olive or canola oil
1 cup water
1 bay leaf
1 teaspoon salt
1/8 to 1/4 teaspoon crushed red peppers
1 can black beans (16 ounces, drained)
1 cup uncooked rice
2 medium green peppers (cut into 1-inch strips)
1 medium onion (chopped)
1.5 teaspoons salt
1/2 to 1 teaspoon curry powder
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Cut beef into 1-inch pieces. Heat oil in a large skillet until hot. Cook and stir beef in oil over medium heat until brown (about 15 minutes). Add water, bay leaf, 1 teaspoon of salt and the red peppers. Heat to boiling. Reduce heat. Cover and simmer 45 minutes.

Drain beef, reserving broth. Add enough water to broth to measure 2 cups. Mix beef, broth and remaining ingredients. Pour into an ungreased 2-quart casserole. Cover and cook in a 350-degree oven until liquid is absorbed, 45-50 minutes. Serve with sliced tomatoes if desired.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Entrees or Main Course, Kid-friendly foods, My life, Stews, Supper and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.