“Chinese” Chicken


Stir Fry

We call this Chinese Chicken, and it is very tasty.

Our daughter Roni loves my stir fry and she asked me to make it tonight since she didn’t have to work and would be home for supper. It’s a recipe I make up as I go and I never make it the same way twice. I do, however, make it similarly each time. I usually use whatever vegetables I have in the refrigerator. My refrigerator was pretty bare today so I used some frozen vegetables instead of fresh ones. This is how I made it tonight.

Chinese Chicken
Serves 4

8-12 skinless chicken tenders, cubed
3 carrots, peeled and cut in rounds
2 sticks of celery, sliced in 1″ pieces
1 medium onion, cut in chunks or sliced
2 bags of frozen vegetables (your choice)
2 cups of water
2 chicken bouillon cubes
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/8 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon Kitchen Bouquet seasoning
1/8 teaspoon ground coriander
2-3 tablespoons Lite soy sauce
2 tablespoons cornstarch + 1/4 cup water
1-2 tablespoons olive oil

Heat the oil in a wok or a large frying pan. Saute the chicken in the oil until nearly done. Transfer the chicken to a bowl or a platter and set it  aside. Saute the onion, carrots and celery until crisp tender. Add the frozen vegetables, water and bouillon and cook for a few minutes. Dissolve the cornstarch in the water and add this to the vegetables. Add the spices and stir to combine. Return the chicken to the pot and cook a couple of minutes until everything is hot and the sauce is thick (like gravy). Serve over rice.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cooking Tips, Entrees or Main Course, Kid-friendly foods, My life, Poultry, Vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.