Greek Mint Meatballs


These meatballs are very tasty and work great as an appetizer. I work at James Madison University in the Center for International Stabilization and Recovery where we hold resident training sessions to train landmine action senior managers from around the world. The participants from the Middle East loved these when I brought them to a gathering.

Greek Mint Meatballs
Makes 36 1-inch meatballs

1 pound ground beef or lamb (or 1/2 beef, 1/2 lamb) 
1/2 cup dry bread crumbs
1/4 cup snipped fresh parsley
1/4 cup milk
1 egg
1 medium onion (finely chopped)
1 clove garlic (minced)
1 tablespoon snipped fresh mint leaves or 1/2 teaspoon crushed dried mint
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon crushed dried oregano leaves
1/4 teaspoon pepper

Mix all ingredients together and shape into 1 or 2-inch  balls. Place meatballs on an ungreased jelly roll pan. Cook uncovered in a 350-degree oven until lightly browned, about 20-25 minutes.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Appetizers, Entrees or Main Course, Kid-friendly foods, Lunch, My life, Supper and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.