Barley with Green Beans Parmesan


I am a Type 2 Diabetic. I’ve discovered that if I eat mostly vegetarian meals, I can better maintain my blood sugar. Over the weekend I did some research into the Eat Right for Your Blood Type diet. I am blood type A (which should eat mostly vegetarian meals!); my husband is blood type O (and he needs to eat beef). The recommendations for my blood type do not often overlap Don’s blood type recommendations. But since he is very healthy and has no health issues, my needs supersede his. 🙂 Type O should not eat barley, but Type A can eat barley, and this is a grain that I really like. So tonight I made Barley with Green Beans Parmesan to accompany grilled salmon. It was very tasty and satisfying. I am not supposed to eat cheese, but I put it in anyway. The meal was very tasty and satisfying.

This recipe is from my Superfoods cookbook by Dolores Riccio. The recipes in this cookbook are always delicious. This one was no exception.

Barley with Green Beans Parmesan

Salmon served with Barley with Green Beans Parmesan

Barley with Green Beans Parmesan
Serves 4

1/2 cup pearl barley, rinsed and drained
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
10 ounces fresh or frozen green beans, trimmed, sliced and steamed to tender crisp
1/4 teaspoon each: dried oregano, dried basil, and pepper
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley
2 tablespoons pine nuts, toasted

Cook the barley in 1 quart of boiling salted water until the grains are tender but not mushy (about 35 minutes). Drain, but reserve a few tablespoons of the liquid in case you need to add it at the end to reheat the dish.

Heat the oil in a frying pan or saucepan. Saute the onion in the oil until softened. Add the spices and stir. Add the green beans and barley. Stir to combine. Toast the pine nuts. Watch them carefully and remove them when they first start to turn a little brown. They burn easily, and invariably, I burn the first batch! Add the parsley, toasted pine nuts and Parmesan cheese to the casserole and stir to combine. Heat thoroughly and serve immediately.

This is only a Type A recipe if you eliminate the cheese. That would also make it vegan.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Casseroles, Cooking Tips, Diabetic, Entrees or Main Course, fish, Health, Hearty food, My life, Nutrition & Diet, Side Dishes, Supper, Type A, Type O, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian, Whole Grain and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Barley with Green Beans Parmesan

  1. Kristin says:

    This looks delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe 🙂

Comments are closed.