Fight Off The Cold With Mexican Chicken Soup


Last week I thought I was coming down with a cold. I felt kind of “puny” (as some people in Virginia call not feeling well) so I decided to make some chicken soup. My favorite chicken soup is Sopa Pollo Mexicana/Mexican Chicken Soup. In my humble opinion, this soup is not only the best chicken soup ever, but it is a good cold fighter. I added some oranges for dessert and, thankfully, the cold never materialized!

Mexican Chicken Soup

This is my favorite chicken soup. I like the avocados diced instead of sliced, but if you slice them, it is prettier.

Sopa Pollo Mexicana/Mexican Chicken Soup
Serves 8-10

1 5-pound stewing chicken
6 cups of water
3 to 4 onion slices
3 stalks of celery, cut up
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper
1 16-ounce can of diced tomatoes
3 medium carrots, sliced in rounds
1 medium onion, chopped
4 teaspoon instant chicken bouillon granules
1 small zucchini, thinly sliced in rounds
1 cup frozen peas
1 small avocado, seeded, peeled and sliced

In a Dutch oven or soup pot, combine the chicken, water, onion slices, celery, salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and then reduce temperature to a simmer. Simmer for about two hours until the chicken is tender. Remove the chicken and vegetables from the broth. When the chicken is cool enough to handle, remove the meat and cut it up into bite-sized pieces. Return the chicken and the vegetables to the broth. Add undrained tomatoes, sliced carrots, chopped onions and the bouillon. Simmer, covered for 30 minutes or until the carrots are tender. Add the zucchini and peas. Simmer 5 to 10 minutes until the vegetables are tender. Add the sliced avocado just before serving.

~Lois

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Entrees or Main Course, Gluten free, Hearty food, Lunch, My life, Poultry, Soups, Supper, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.