Homemade Pizza


I am off work until Monday and have enjoyed sleeping late and watching the morning shows on TV for the past two days. In fact, I spent the entire morning yesterday drinking my delicious coffee (I love coffee) while watching the Today Show and Regis & Kelly. I felt very privileged to be able to spend the morning relaxing. I also perused my cookbooks and chose some delicious recipes for the rest of the week. In the afternoon I went grocery shopping to get everything I need to make this wonderful food. Yesterday was a very fun day! 

One of the meals I chose was Homemade Pizza. I have made this recipe many times and it is amazing every time. It’s also very easy.

Pizza

Homemade Pizza!

Homemade Pizza
Serves 4-6

4 Italian sausage links (sweet)
1 medium onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 a green pepper (chopped)
1/2 a pound fresh button mushrooms (sliced) (or 1 small can sliced mushrooms, drained and sauted)
1 15-oz can tomato sauce
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon pepper
Pizza Dough (below)
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

To make the sausage easier to slice, freeze it for an hour or two. Then slice it into 1/4-inch round slices. Fry the sausage coins until they are cooked through and browned on both sides. Remove the sausages to a separate bowl and then fry the mushrooms (if canned; you can put fresh mushrooms directly on the pizza without frying) until browned. Combine mushrooms, onion, garlic, green pepper, basil, oregano, pepper and tomato sauce. Stir to combine.

Prepare pizza dough.

Pizza Dough

1 package active dry yeast
3/4 cup warm water (105 to 115F degrees)
1/2 teaspoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons olive oil
2 cups all-purpose flour

Dissolve yeast in warm water. When it starts to bubble, add sugar, salt, oil and 1 & 3/4 cups flour. Mix and knead on a floured surface until smooth and elastic, about 5 minutes. Spread dough on a greased pizza pan or jelly roll pan. I always use a 13 x 9 jelly roll pan. Top the dough with the prepared sauce, followed by the sausages and the two cheeses. Bake at 425F degrees until cheese is bubbly and starting to brown, and the crust is brown, about 15 to 20 minutes.

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Entrees or Main Course, Kid-friendly foods, Supper, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.