Curried Quinoa


Whenever I bring food to the office to share, I try to bring food that everyone can and will eat. That can be challenging since we have several vegetarians, a couple of people who are allergic to gluten, and a diabetic. The following recipe, originally taken from the Moosewood Restaurant New Classics and modified a bit, is what I am bringing to our holiday party tomorrow.

Curried Quinoa

This dish is full of protein. It's filling and very flavorful.

Curried Quinoa
Serves 6-8

1 cup quinoa
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 c diced onions
1 teaspoon grated fresh ginger root
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon turmeric
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 & 3/4 cups water
1/2 cup frozen peas
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

Place the quinoa in a fine-mesh strainer and with cold water. Drain well.

Saute the onions in the oil until they are soft and transparent (4-5 minutes). Add the ginger, cayenne and quinoa and cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Add the remaining spices and cook for another minute and stir.

Add the water and bring to a boil. Cover, reduce the heat, and simmer for 15 minutes. Stir in the peas, cover, and cook for 4-5 minutes until the peas are tender and the water has been absorbed. Fluff with a fork and add the cilantro before serving.

~Lois

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Casseroles, Diabetic, Entrees or Main Course, Gluten free, Lunch, My life, Side Dishes, Vegan, Vegetarian, Whole Grain. Bookmark the permalink.