Barley Risotto


When I was diagnosed as diabetic, I began to look for interesting, tasty whole-grain dishes that are low in fat. Barley Risotto is a very filling and delicious dish. It can be used as a  side dish or as the main casserole. It’s hearty and surprisingly flavorful.

It must be a barley time in my life. I just posted another barley recipe, Barley Zucchini Casserole. It’s good too!

Barley Risotto

Barley Risotto is a very flavorful and filling whole grain meal. Serve it with sliced raw vegetables and fruit.

Barley Risotto
Serves 4 to 6

2 1/2 cups vegetable stock
1/2 teaspoon dried ground thyme
1/4 teaspoon crumbled saffron (optional) 
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup sliced and well rinsed leeks (white and tender green parts only)
3 garlic cloves (minced)
1 cup pearl barley
1/2 cup dry white wine
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Place vegetable stock and spices in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Cover and set aside.

Heat 2 tablespoons of oil in a large skillet. Add leeks and garlic. Saute on medium heat for about 5 minutes until softened. Stir in the barley and toss to coat with oil. If needed, add one more tablespoon of oil. Add wine and cook until wine is absorbed, stirring frequently.

Add the stock you set aside earlier and bring to a boil. Cover and reduce the heat to low. Continue to cook until the liquid is all absorbed and the barley is al dente, about 30-35 minutes. Stir frequently. If the barley is too chewy, add a bit more liquid. Stir in the cheese until it melts. Serve immediately.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Casseroles, Diabetic, Hearty food, Lunch, My life, Side Dishes, Supper, Vegetables, Vegetarian, Whole Grain and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.