Green Bean Casserole


When Don was a kid in the 1960s, the Moms would get together and share recipes. This one came from Mrs. Tuttle, and we’re all glad she shared it. As simple as it is, especially when all the other cooking goes on for a Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner, Green Bean Casserole gets our kids to eat their vegetables. This casserole is a tradition at our house during the holidays when turkey is served. Even the kids and grandkids like it.

Momma Betty’s Green Bean Casserole
Serves 6

One bag of frozen (or 2 cans) French style green beans
1 & 1/2 Tablespoon butter
1 & 1/2 Tablespoon flour
1 & 1/2 Tablespoon sugar
2 small onions
1 & 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 pint of sour cream
8 oz Swiss cheese
About one cup of corn flake crumbs

Grate the onion into a small bowl (or chop using a food processor) and set aside. Grate the Swiss cheese and set aside.

In a small skillet, melt the butter over low heat and make a paste of the flour, sugar, salt and grated onion. Remove from heat and add the sour cream and Swiss cheese.
Thaw and drain the green beans and spread them evenly in a shallow baking dish. Spread the paste over the green beans and cover with a thin layer of corn flake crumbs.

Bake at 350F degrees for one hour.  The casserole will be bubbly and the corn flake crumbs slightly browned.

NOTE: It’s easy to modify this recipe for larger groups by adding more green beans and increasing the ingredients for the paste. I routinely double the paste even for this quantity of French green beans. I makes it easier to spread and cover the beans. I use a 1 & 1/2 quart Corningware casserole for this recipe.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Casseroles, Holiday Food, My life, Side Dishes, Supper, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.