Crumbly Top Blueberry Pie


“Pie, pie. I love pie!” I think that’s how the song goes that Andie McDowell sings in the movie, Michael. That’s the way I feel about blueberry pie. I love it.

My Great Grandma Martin made a delicious blueberry pie.  Sometimes she made it with a lattice top and sometimes she topped it with a full pie crust. It was my favorite pie when I was a kid. I don’t have her recipe, but Joy of Cooking has a very good blueberry pie recipe. I like it with a crumbly top instead of a pie crust.

Don and I are entering a pie contest tomorrow. I made blueberry pie and he is making an elaborate apple pie. He’s not baking his until tomorrow, so I’ll put the recipe up then for the apple pie.

Blueberry pie

My favorite! Crumbly Top Blueberry Pie

Crumbly Top Blueberry Pie
Serves 8-12

Pie Crust
1 Pie Crust (I usually cheat and use a pre-made crust. I prefer the Pillsbury ones you find in the dairy case, but today Don made the crust using a Joy of Cooking recipe.)

Flaky Pie Crust

Using a rubber spatula, thoroughly mix the following in a large bowl:

2&1/2 cups Flour
1 Tablespoon Powdered Sugar (confectioner’s)
1 teaspoon Salt

Add:
1 cup Crisco (solid vegetable shortening)

Break the Crisco into large chunks. Then add it to the flour mixture. Cut the shortening into the dry ingredients by chopping vigorously with a pastry blender or by cutting in opposite directions with two knives, one in each hand. As you work, periodically stir the dry flour up from the bottom of the bowl and scrape clinging fat off the pastry blender or knives. You are finished when some of the shortening is still pea-sized; the rest should be reduced to the consistency of coarse crumbs or cornmeal. The mixture should seem dry and powdery and not pasty or greasy. Drizzle over the flour and fat mixture:

1/2 cup plus 1 Tablespoon Ice Water

Using the rubber spatula, cut with the blade side until the mixture looks evenly moistened and begins to form small balls. Press down on the dough with the flat side of the spatula. If the balls of dough stick together, you have added enough water. If they do not, drizzle over the top:

1 to 2 Tablespoons Ice Water

Cut in the water, again using the blade of the spatula, then press your hands until the dough coheres. The dough should look rough, not smooth. Divide the dough in half, pressing each half into a round, flat disk, and wrap tightly in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes and preferably for several hours (or for up to 2 days) before rolling. The dough can also be wrapped airtight and frozen for up to 6 months: thaw completely before rolling.

Roll the dough into a circle and put it in the pie pan.

Rather than including all the written instructions for rolling dough, I suggest you watch this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6UjUM9tW-Bg

Filling:
4&1/2 cups of Blueberries (fresh or frozen)
3/4 cup organic Turbinado Sugar
4 Tablespoons quick-cooking Tapioca
2 Tablespoons fresh Lemon Juice
1 teaspoon grated Lemon Zest (optional)
1/8 teaspoon Salt

Crumbly Top Topping:
3/4 C light brown sugar (or natural sugar)
3/4 flour
1/2 C butter

Move the lower rack to the bottom 1/3 of the oven. Preheat oven to 425F Degrees. Combine all filling ingredients and let stand for 15 minutes. Place the pie crust in a 9-inch pie pan and press into place. Pour the filling into the pie pan. Cover pie with the crumbly top topping. Place the pie on a cookie sheet covered with aluminum foil. (It tends to boil over the sides.)

Mix all the ingredients for the topping and sprinkle it over the pie.

Bake the pie on the lower rack for 30 minutes. Reduce the oven temperature to 350F Degrees and bake until thick juices bubble up, about 25-35 minutes. Let cool on a rack. The pie is best served on the same day it is made, but it can  be stored at room temperature for up to one day.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Desserts, Fruits and Jellies, Holiday Food, My life, Pie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.