Three-Layer Mint Brownies


This is another of my family’s favorite holiday “cookies.” They are easy to make and very pretty when served alongside other cookies. They are also lovely served on a plate with a strawberry.

Three-layer mint brownies, Sadie Carter's Sugar Cookies and Oatmeal Cookies

Three-layer mint brownies, Sadie Carter’s Sugar Cookies and Oatmeal Cookies

RECIPE IDEA:
When my daughter Erin was in elementary school, she came home one day and told me that the teacher told her she must bring a treat the next day. She told me it had to be Three-Layer Mint Brownies. After I made the brownies and took them to school, I found out her teacher said nothing of the sort! Erin just wanted the brownies.

Three-Layer Mint Brownies

Three Layer Mint Brownies Nutrition Label

Three Layer Mint Brownies Nutrition Label

24 2-inch brownies

First Layer:
1 cup sugar
4 eggs
1 stick of butter
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 can (large size) Hershey’s Syrup

Second Layer:
1 stick butter
2 cups powdered sugar
2 tablespoons milk
1 & 1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract
Green food coloring

Third Layer:
1 stick butter
1 small package chocolate chips

First Layer:
Mix the first three ingredients. Beat until smooth. Add flour and baking powder. Mix well. Add Hershey’s Syrup. Mix well. Pour onto a greased cookie sheet and bake at 350F degrees for 25-30 minutes until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Second Layer:
Mix butter, powdered sugar, milk, peppermint extract, and a few drops of green food coloring. Beat until smooth and spread on cooled brownies.

Third Layer:
Melt butter and chocolate chips in a double boiler. This can be done in the microwave, but be careful. Chocolate burns easily so microwave it on high for one or two minutes at a time and stir it frequently. Mix well. Cool and pour over mint layer. Refrigerate to set.

Cut into two-inch squares (very rich!). Note: brownies must be refrigerated or they tend to melt.

Gluten-Free Three Layer Mint Brownies Nutrition Label

Gluten-Free Three Layer Mint Brownies Nutrition Label

I tried making these gluten free, and they were very good. In fact, I thought they were better than the original recipe. Instead of the flour, I put in 1/2 cup Fava Bean/Garbanzo Bean Flour plus 1/4 cup ground Flaxseed plus 1/4 cup Buckwheat Flour. I also added 2 squares of Baker’s Chocolate (melted and cooled.) Yum!

~Lois

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cookies, Desserts, Gluten free, Holiday Food, My life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.