Sadie Carter’s Brown-Sugar Sugar Cookies


Grandma Sadie died before I realized I should ask for this recipe. I tried sugar cookie after sugar cookie trying to find one as delicious as my Grandma Sadie’s cookie. Then I ran into my cousin Terry Clark and he said, “Do you remember Grandma Sadie’s sugar cookie? I have the recipe!” He graciously sent it to me! I am very thankful to have this recipe.

Three-layer mint brownies, Sadie Carter's Sugar Cookies and Oatmeal Cookies

Three-layer mint brownies, Sadie Carter's Sugar Cookies and Oatmeal Cookies

Cookie
Makes 30 Cookies

2 cups brown sugar
1 cup shortening (Crisco or Butter)
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. cream of tartar
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
2 T. warm water
4 cups flour

Cream brown sugar and shortening.  Add egg and vanilla.  Mix in cream of tartar and salt.  Add soda to warm water and then mix into dough.  Mix in flour 1 cup at a time.  Chill overnight or at least one hour.  Roll out, cut and bake at 325 degrees Farenheit for about 11 minutes or until the tops are turning brown. Cool and frost with the frosting below.

Frosting
1 cup powdered sugar
1/4 tsp. vanilla
1 T. milk
1 T. margarine or butter
a few drops of food coloring

Mix with a spoon (or electric beater) until creamy smooth, but not liquid.  Add a little milk or a little powdered sugar to give the right consistency. Top with sprinkles, nonpariels, cinnamon hearts, or other toppings.

Store the frosted cookies in an airtight container with wax paper between layers. Grab and eat on the run or serve on a pretty plate for guests.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cookies, Desserts, My life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.