Chocolate Cherry Squares


Chocolate Cherry Squares

These bar cookies look beautiful and people think you work very hard on them when they see them.

With the holidays just around the corner, I thought I would post some holiday recipes. Chocolate Cherry Squares are one of my daughter Erin’s favorite Christmas cookies. One year I mailed her a box of these cookies along with several other chocolate cookies and candies. Her roommate put it under the tree without opening the outer box and the dogs got into it in the middle of the night, eating most of the goodies. (Dogs can die from eating chocolate.) It took two emergency trips to the vet and cost her about $1,000 to save their lives, and she didn’t get one cookie from the batch! Since then, I send any edible goodies to Erin’s office.

Chocolate Cherry Squares

Yum! These are good.

Chocolate Cherry Squares
Makes 16

These are easy bar cookies that look very hard to make. At the holidays, they are beautiful served with other holiday cookies.

Cookie:
1 cup sifted flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter or margarine

Topping:
1 cup chocolate chips
1 jar of maraschino cherries (10-ounce jar), each cut in half
crushed nuts (optional)

Combine first three cookie ingredients. Cut in butter. Shape into a ball. Press into an 8″ x 8″ pan. Bake at 350F degrees for 20 minutes. The cookies  will be just slightly brown when they are done. Cut into 2″ squares while still warm (very important). Melt chocolate chips. Top each cookie square with a dab of melted chocolate. Put 1/2 a cherry on top of each cookie. With a teaspoon, dab more chocolate over the cherry. Sprinkle with crushed nuts. Let set until chocolate is firm. If you double the recipe, use a 9″ x 13″ pan. For a cookie sheet, multiply the recipe by four.

A couple of people at my office are gluten intolerant (or maybe they are allergic to gluten), so I’ve been learning about how to eliminate gluten. Today I tried making a small pan of gluten-free cookies using Garbanzo and Fava Bean flour. The batter didn’t taste as sweet as normal so after I put them in the pan, I sprinkled turbinado sugar over the top before I baked it. Don and I both thought they were very tasty.

Chocolate face
Carter wasn’t willing to try the cookie, but he loved the chocolate.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop
 
About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cookies, Desserts, Gluten free, Holiday Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.