Butternut Squash Soup


Tonight was a good night for soup. Actually, I think any night is a good night for soup. The Butternut Squash Soup I made was delicious. We paired that with a fresh artichoke with butter and some delicious bread from the European Market.

We were watching Taevi tonight, but she was exhausted and fell asleep on the stairs when trying to get to Papaw. She was just too tired to make it all the way up the stairs, I guess.

child on steps

So tired...Taevi couldn't make it up the steps and fell asleep.

Butternut Squash Soup
Serves 4-6

butternut squash

A peasant dinner on elegant dishes.

1 large Butternut Squash
1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons minced fresh thyme (or ½ teaspoon dried), minced
2 teaspoons fresh sage, chopped
2 Tablespoons fresh basil, minced (or 1 teaspoon dried)
1 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon flour
½ cup Dry White Wine
2 cups Milk
Pepper to taste

Peel the squash and remove the seeds. Cut into cubes and steam until tender. Saute the onions and garlic until the onions are clear (5-10 minutes). Mix in the spices and the flour. Add the wine and continue cooking for a minute or two, stirring to mix. Transfer the mixture to a food processor or blender and blend until smooth. Add the milk, one cup at a time, blending in between. Adjust the seasonings. Heat gently just before serving.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Lunch, Soups, Supper, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.