Donna’s Seafoam: The Best Christmas Candy


Every year when it got cold, sometime between Thanksgiving and Christmas, my mom made Sea Foam. It’s a chewy candy, somewhat between “divinity” and “taffy.” It looks like a Hershey’s Kiss, but it isn’t chocolate.

This was my favorite candy when I was a child. Unfortunately, I never learned how to make this before my mother died. She made it only once a year, at Christmastime, and each year she made several batches. 

Mom always said the humidity had to be just right for it to turn out. I tried making this many times and it only turned out once! The next time I tried to make a double batch and burned out the motor of my stand mixer. Grrrr! I’ve given up on trying to make this unless someone can tell me how to solve the problems. This candy never sets up for me.

Can you help? Try it and see if you can figure it out.

Donna Gaille McNutt

My mother was beautiful, funny and talented. She always made Seafoam at Christmastime. I wish I would have learned how to make it before she died.

Donna’s Seafoam
Makes about 24-30 Candies

2 cups white sugar
3/4 cup white Karo Syrup
3/4 cup water
1 teaspoon of vanilla or other flavoring
A few drops of food coloring (red or green)
2 egg whites

Mix the first five ingredients well, boil until brittle when tested in cold water (about 20 minutes). Using a candy thermometer, this would be about 300 to 310F degrees. Be careful! This burns easily.

Beat 2 egg whites until stiff. Pour the boiling syrup over the stiff egg whites, beating fast. Continue beating until candy starts to set (must be pretty stiff). Add vanilla or flavoring and coloring and beat until thoroughly mixed. Drop by spoonfuls onto oiled pan. The candy should be soft and chewy but hold its shape like a Hershey’s Kiss. Note: candy will not set if the humidity or temperature in the room is too high.

~Lois

Reciipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Candy, Desserts, Holiday Food, My life, Type A and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.