My Favorite Chocolate Cake


I love chocolate cake. Actually, I love just about anything chocolate. This recipe originally came from one of those spiral-bound cookbooks that contain recipes from multiple people. It was a Disabled Veterans cookbook. Everything I ever made out of that cookbook was amazing, and this is no exception. Forget the box mixes! This is easy and SOoooo much better!

Chocolate Cake

This is the best chocolate cake you will ever have.

Chocolate Cake
Serves 12

1&1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1/4 t. salt
1 t. vanilla
1/2 cup shortening (butter)
1 cup boiling water
1/2 c. sweet milk
2 cups flour
2&1/4 t soda
1/2 c cocoa

Mix the sugar, eggs, salt, and vanilla. Mix in the milk. Add the flour, cocoa and soda and mix well. Melt the butter and boil the water and add to the mixture. Mix well and pour into 3 round cake pans (greased) or one 13″ x 9″ cake pan. Bake in a 350F degree oven for 25 to 30 minutes (20 minutes for round pans) or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

If I make this in an oblong pan, I make 1&1/2 times the recipe. The cake is very big and fluffy then! Top with Chocolate Frosting.

Chocolate Frosting

2 cups powdered sugar
2 sq. baker’s chocolate
pinch of salt
4 T butter (softened)
2-3 T milk

Melt the chocolate and cool it. Cream the butter. Add the powdered sugar slowly, a little at a time until it is thoroughly blended. Mix in the salt and chocolate. Blend well. Add the milk to adjust the texture.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Desserts, My life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.