Don’s Birthday Cake (Carrot Cake)


When I divorced my first husband, he liked my Carrot Cake so much that he tried to negotiate 6 carrot cakes a year in the settlement until he no longer had to pay child support (he didn’t get that!). My second husband, Don, also loves the cake and it has become his annual birthday cake. It’s the best carrot cake I’ve ever had. Try it and see what you think.

Carrot Cake

This is Don's favorite vegetable. 🙂

Carrot Cake
Serves 12-16

4 eggs
2 cups sugar
1&1/4 cup salad oil
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon freshly-ground nutmeg
3 cups grated carrots (about 1 lb.)
1 10-oz jar maraschino cherries, drained and cut in quarters
1 cup walnuts (chopped)

Beat eggs, sugar, and oil until blended. Add baking powder, baking soda and spices. Mix thoroughly. Add flour, mix. Add carrots, cherries and nuts and mix to combine.

Grease and line the bottom of 3 round cake pans with wax paper. Pour the cake batter into the cake pans and bake at 350F degrees for 25-30 minutes until done. Remove from oven and let cool 5 minutes. With a table knife, loosen the cakes from the sides and dump them out of the pans. Carefully remove the wax paper. Frost with Cream Cheese Frosting. Store the cake in the refrigerator.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Cakes, Desserts, Holiday Food, My life, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’s Birthday Cake (Carrot Cake)

  1. Don says:

    Truly the most delicious cake ever!! It’s so good I refuse to eat any other carrot cake. (Good thing my Mother doesn’t make carrot cake!) This cake is most, loaded with carrots and the “secret ingredient” is the maraschino cherries. They add the right amount of color and sweetness to this lucious desert!!

Comments are closed.