Clean-Out-The-Refrigerator Soup


On Friday I looked in the refrigerator and decided several of the vegetables needed to be cooked and eaten, or they would soon spoil. So I took some organic chicken italian sausages out of the freezer and decided to make a vegetable soup with sausage. It turned out great.

Soup

You can use any vegetables you like in soup. The flavors blend and create a delicious meal.

Clean-Out-The-Refrigerator Vegetable Soup
Serves 8

1 yellow onion, chopped
1/4 red onion, chopped
1/2 green pepper, chopped
3 carrots, sliced
2 garlic cloves, minced
8 chicken italian sausages
1 sweet potato, diced
2 small beets, peeled and quartered
1 small head of cauliflower, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 yellow squash, sliced and quartered
1 cup frozen peas
2 cups fresh kale, sliced in ribbons
6 cups water
2 vegetable bouillon cubes
1/4 tsp celery salt
1/2 tsp. dried thyme
1/2 tsp. dried oregano
1/4 tsp. dried marjoram
1/2 tsp. fresh rosemary leaves, chopped
2 bay leaves

In a Dutch oven, saute the onions, carrots, green pepper and garlic until the onions are transparent and the other vegetables are starting to soften. Add the sausages, sliced in rounds, and saute until slightly browned. Add all of the spices, stir, and cook for a minute or two. Add the water and bouillon and cook on medium heat for about 20-30 minutes. Add the peas and kale and cook for another 5-7 minutes. Serve hot with crusty bread.

I went to the new European Market (behind the mall in the shopping center where Heavenly Ham is located) and bought a terrific wheat boule to accompany the soup. I hadn’t heard of the European Market until recently when Nicky Swayne mentioned it. Thanks, Nicky! What a find!

Tonight, Don and I are headed to the Harrisonburg Signature Chefs fundraiser for the March of Dimes. I served on the board of directors for a few years and we still like to attend this annual event. It always boasts terrific food from many of the area chefs. We are looking forward to it.

~Lois

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Breads, Soups, Supper, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.