Slow Cooker Arroz non Pollo


For the next week Don and I are hosting two young men from a program called Up With People. Carlos is 23 and from California; Dylan is 19 and from South Dakota. One is vegetarian so we are eating vegetarian foods this week.

I tried a new recipe from Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker. It’s a terrific cookbook. I have made several recipes from it, and all have been quite good. Everyone liked tonight’s supper, including my 2-year-old granddaughter, Taevi. I thought it was just a bit on the spicy side. Next time I will use a little less salsa. 

Rice, No Chicken

This casserole is delicious, filling and unusual.

Rice, No Chicken
Serves 4

2 T olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
10 baby carrots (or 3 large)
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 t dried oregano
1/2 t ground cumin
1/8 t saffron threads
1 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes, with juice
3 cups water
3 vegetable bouillon cubes
1 red bell pepper, diced
8 ounces green beans, trimmed
1 15.5-ounce can chickpeas, drained & rinsed
Pepper to taste
3/4 c salsa (or 1/2 cup for slightly less spice)
1/2 c frozen peas, thawed
1/3 c sliced pimiento-stuffed green olives, drained
1 c brown rice

Heat the oil in a medium skillet over medium heat. Add onions, carrots, garlic and spices and saute until onions are translucent and carrots are beginning to brown. Transfer cooked onion mixture to a lightly greased 4- to 6-quart slow cooker. Add the tomatoes, water, bouillon, bell pepper, green beans and chickpeas. Season to taste with pepper. Cover, cook on low for 6 to 8 hours. Cook the rice separately and add to the crock pot about 1/2 hour before serving. Stir. About 10 minutes before serving, add the salsa, peas and olives. Cover and cook for 10 minutes. Serve with crusty bread.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Casseroles, Entrees or Main Course, My life, Side Dishes, Stews, Supper, Type A, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.