The Best Chocolate Chip Cookies


 

Chocolate Chip Cookies

These fluffy chocolate chip cookies are very chewy.

Don is a purist. He thinks you should always use natural ingredients when you cook. He would never use margarine in anything, especially cookies. Generally, I agree with him, and I use butter instead of margarine. But for Chocolate Chip Cookies, I use margarine because it makes the cookies fluffy. When I use butter in these cookies, they flatten out; I like my cookies to be bigger and chewier. The secret is to use cold margarine.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 24

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) cold margarine (or butter)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 (12-ounce) package NESTLE® TOLL HOUSE® Semi-Sweet Chocolate Morsels
  •  

    Preheat oven to 375F degrees. In a large bowl, cream the margarine, sugars, eggs, and vanilla. The margarine will not be creamed entirely; it will be cut into tiny pieces. Add the salt and baking soda. Mix. Add the flour, one cup at at time, and mix thoroughly. Add the chocolate chips and mix well.

    Use a soup spoon to measure the cookies. Using a heaping spoonful, drop the cookies about 2 inches apart on a cookie sheet. There is no need to grease it. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the cookies are beginning to brown. If you take them out at this time, they will be chewy. Or, if you prefer crunchy cookies, bake them until they are entirely brown (2-3 minutes more than for chewy cookies).

    ~Lois

    Recipe Idea Shop

    About Lois

    My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
    This entry was posted in Cookies, Desserts, My life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.