Roni’s Favorite: Broccoli Salad


Our daughter, Roni

Our daughter, Roni

This recipe originally came from Don’s mom, Momma Betty, and it is our daughter Roni’s favorite salad. It’s a good “covered dish” to take to a potluck dinner. It’s easy and quite tasty. I made it yesterday to take to Valley Friends Meeting (Quakers) today because Meeting was having a special speaker today after Meeting for Worship.

Broccoli Salad
Serves 8-12

 

 

broccoli salad

Broccoli salad is a delicious dish to take to a potluck dinner.

3 Bunches of broccoli crowns, cut in bite-sized pieces
1/2 cup chopped onions (I like the red onions for this)
1/2 cup slivered almonds, toasted or 12 slices of bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 cup white raisins (can substitute brown raisins or craisins)

Dressing:
1 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup sugar
2 Tablespoons balsamic vinegar (or raspberry vinegar)

Mix the broccoli, onions, almonds and raisins until combined. In a separate bowl, whisk all of the dressing ingredients until smooth. Pour the dressing over the broccoli mixture and mix to combine. Serve immediately or refrigerate to serve later.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Lunch, My life, Salad, Side Dishes, Supper, Type A, Vegetables, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.