Chilean Bean & Corn Stew and Brownies


My husband Don has Type O blood; I have Type A. According to Eat Right for your Blood Type by Dr. Peter D’Adamo, Don should be a meat eater and I should be vegetarian. We compromise and eat a few meals a week with meat, a few vegetarian meals and the rest with fish. Yesterday, Don was in Richmond all day for meeting so I made some vegetarian stew and went to a friend’s house for an evening of food and fellowship. I started with a recipe from the Moosewood Restaurant New Classics cookbook. Moosewood recipes are always delicious.

Chilean Bean & Corn Stew

Chilean Bean & Corn Stew is flavorful and filling.

Chilean Bean & Corn Stew
Serves 6-10

2 Tablespoons olive oil
2 cups chopped onions
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
3 cups of water
1 large butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cubed
3 cups corn kernels
2 15-ounce cans black beans (thoroughly rinsed)
1/2 cup fresh basil, chopped

In a large Dutch oven or soup pot, cook the onions, garlic and spices until the onions are translucent. Add the water and the squash and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for about 10 minutes. Stir in the beans, basil and one cup of corn. Cover and simmer for 5 more minutes, or until the squash is tender.

Ladle 2 cups of broth into a blender or food processor. Add the remaining corn and puree until smooth. Stir this mixture back into the stew and heat for 5 minutes until hot. Instead of black beans, you can use pinto beans. I have also substituted sweet potato for the butternut squash and it is delicious.

Serve with a nice, crusty bread and a green salad.

Lois’ Favorite Brownies
Makes 24

Brownies

Ghirardelli Brownies are a delicious alternative to made-from-scratch brownies.

4 squares unsweetened chocolate (4 oz)
2/3 cup butter
2 cups sugar
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/4 cup flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Heat oven to 350F degrees. Grease a 13″ x 9 1/2″ x 2″ pan and set aside. Melt chocolate and butter over low heat or in the microwave until melted. Watch closely as this can burn easily. Beat sugar, eggs, vanilla and salt. Stir in flour and baking powder. Add the chocolate/butter mixture and stir until well combined.

Now you have an option. I like the walnuts on the top of the brownies (as in the picture). Some people like them mixed in. I have found that my kids don’t like nuts in brownies, but I love them, so I put them on top. That way the kids can pick them out, and people who are allergic to nuts will clearly see the brownies have nuts in them. I generally make the pan with half nuts/half no nuts.

~Lois

Recipe Idea Shop

About Lois

My husband, Don Crawford, and I love to cook. For me, it's more about eating delicious food than the actual cooking. I like to cook mostly because I like to eat, and I like the proud sense of accomplishment when the food I make is appreciated by others. For Don, it's all about presentation. So we make a good team. I'm too impatient to create beautiful presentations (usually), but he sweeps in and takes over so it all turns out great. All our recipes are tried and true!
This entry was posted in Accompaniments, Desserts, Entrees or Main Course, Hearty food, Side Dishes, Stews, Supper, Type A, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetables, Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.